Dad

Jeff

I have never forgotten how smart my husband was or the things he was capable of. He was a jack of all trades and rarely asked anyone for help. He was the family hero. I’m sure those were difficult and hard boots to fill, but now that I look back, he never complained of anything that needed done, or about anyone that needed helped. He was always there for anyone in need. He was always telling jokes and was ALWAYS available.

He cut dinner off one night to find a friend lost in the woods, crawled under countless homes to change our stoves or pull out dangerous animals. He protected us in the middle of the night. I will never forget this image of him in the yard or the sound of his feet… in his underwear, with a pistol in hand. The kids and I were laughing at how ridiculous he looked. I will never forget the days of him on black pavement in hundred degree weather changing my tire, soaking in sweat, never complaining even though I knew the sweat was burning his eyes and his back was hurting. There are a million more memories I hold close to my heart. No matter how busy he was helping so many, he always had time for the woods, the water, and his family.

I ran across an article that reminded me of his many characters he played as father, husband, son, and friend. Thank you Todd for reminding me of things I had forgotten, as there are so many to remember. I love your list. Beautiful! Dad.

About Christine Smith-Johnson

I am a widowed mother of three children, ages 11 to 19. I hope to encourage you through my trials and traumatic experiences. All my life, I dealt with heartache, and kept my head held high. Recently, I dealt with a heartache so big, it consumed me. Every part of me was lost and hurting. I never thought I would make it through. I did and I want to help you make it through your heartache, no matter how big or small it may seem to you.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Dealing With Death, Elderly Issues, Parenting Issues, Relationship Issues, Teen Issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I was searching over on the internet I discovered your write-up Dad Pullingitupbythebootstraps's Blog and thought it really engaging. There is some very good solutions right here. Your viewers may also like to take a glance at my write-up about feelings. Thank You.

  2. I really enjoyed reading through Dad Pullingitupbythebootstraps's Blog and bookmarked so I can take a look at it once again later. There is some very good tips here and many of the things you raise have got me thinking. Cheers.

  3. fivereflections

    your words are deep and warm reflections i enjoyed reading

  4. Chistine…really very very touching post….just think of it in this manner: Maybe GOD needed help from him and so only he went to heaven….Best luck to you and your kids for a bright future 🙂

    • You know, I have always wondered this very same thing, and I ask myself often, hhhmmmm…what kind of help did He need?
      I am glad you liked the post. Thank you so much for your kind words and your encouragement. It really means a lot to me.
      It has been so nice meeting you. Thank you. 🙂

      • Well…maybe HE just wanted a lovely person besides him and so only our Jeff is on a voyage….Maybe HE has given him opportunity to do greater good…And if you believe in traditional Indian Vedanta philosophy of 7 lives….lets hope he’ll meet you in next life.
        And lemme tell you, you inspire me to the core…and i think you should write a book on this…it’ll inspire thousands of thousands…Have a great day ahead…good bye 🙂

        • Alpha, you are so sweet! The reason I started writing about it was to inspire others, thank you for your lovely review! Sometimes, we wonder if we are truly making a difference, and then someone like you comes along…

          I have been told all my life to write a book about my life. Then, I was told to write a book about Jeff. I have numerous pages written in a notebook and on my computer. I just need to finish and then put them together. Seems very difficult at times.

          I love how you think! I do wonder if our love will meet again, it was a very powerful love. I can only pray. You have such a way with words! 🙂
          I hope you have a great day to! Thank you for your encouragement. xoxo

  5. Christine, this post- the simple things that reminded you of your husband- is very touching! We can never forget the simple details of the people we truly love even after they leave to a better place. I bet you’re a wonderful Mom filling the shoes of a Dad to your kids. God Bless you.

    • Awe..Thank you Rana! Some days I imagine we all wonder how we are truly doing as parents. lol You’ll have to ask the kids on that one. 🙂

      You are so right, the simple details are their characteristics, good and bad. My mother always kept my dad’s memory alive by talking to me about him constantly and I cherish her for that. I do the same for my children, making sure they do not forget. The other night I pulled out one of his shirts and a pair of his shorts. My son said he did not remember him being that big of a man. I could have put two of me in them and he was laughing in amazement. It is the little things they enjoy.

      Thank you for your encouragement and reminders.

  6. Todd, I am so thankful you were able to be with your father as long as you were. Maybe you learned or should I say picked up, or inherited a lot of his traits. 🙂

    We are so blessed to have known men like them. I would give anything to bring back the good ones.

  7. Your husband does sound remarkably like my father. He too never complained about a job that needed to be done, and he was our hero. He was capable of fixing anything that was broken or any situation that we managed to find ourselves in.

Leave a Reply

